Missouri Wrestling Revival

Giving Back to Midwest Pro Wrestling!

  • Post With Us

  • Follow Us

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • 2015 MWR Yearbook on Sale

  • Pro Wrestling Tees

  • CAC

  • Rob Schamberger Art

  • Rings and Cages

  • Windy Wine Company

  • Wrestle Talk Podcast

  • Galaxy Wrestling All Stars Comics

  • Piekutowski Sausage

2012 MWR Tag Team of the Year The American Bulldogs (Mark McDowell and Jon West)

Posted by flairwhoooooo on January 3, 2013


The fans love the American Bulldogs-Jon West and Mark McDowell- Photo Credit Brian Kelley

For the past five years Maddog Mark McDowell has found success throughout the Midwest winning tag team gold with various partners such as Krotch. Aaron Masterson, and Brian Scrilla but with the addition of a young protégé in Jon West he has found a partner that could very well lead the tag teams into the future of MWR.

McDowell and West in 2011 took it to some of the best in the Midwest but found themselves on the losing side of the of win loss column at the end of the day. Still, you could see the chemistry and confidence improve with each and every match.

2012 would see the American Bulldogs in a war with two of the very best teams today as they tangled with the Metro Pro Wrestling Tag Team Champions Devin and Mason Cutter, and trying to survive on their home ground of 3XWrestling against Genesis led by Todd Countryman.

The American Bulldogs would come up just short in their goal of dethroning the Hooligans from the title. Yet, along with manager Skylar Pierce were not only able to rid the Genesis from power but was also able to capture the 3XW Tag Team Championship Wrestling titles from American Ground and Air (Ben Sailer & Nate Bash at Spring Showdown 3 on April 27th. ).

During their current eight month title reign the Bulldogs ducked no team and proved they were for real by defeating the 2011 MWR Tag Team of the Year, the Kentucky Buffett, the Beautiful Bodies, the Mylan Management Agency, Arik Cannon and Darin Corbin, The Submission Squad and many more with a total of 8 title defenses .

Meanwhile the duo would find success at both Magnum PRO Wrestling and Pro Wrestling Phoenix throughout the year with big wins against “Cheap & Dirty” Preston Maxwell & “The Passion” Zac James, The Heroes For Hire (Zach Thompson and Jimmy Rockwell),  and the tag team of Joe-Dozer” Joey Anderson & Jeremy Jacobs.

The American Bulldogs have been up and down the roads in the Midwest gaining fans and getting big wins in their short career. Now they can add the 2012 MWR Tag Team of the Year to their resume.

Where we would like to see the American Bulldogs in 2013?

The American Bulldogs just barely edged out the Hooligans for this years MWR Tag Team of the Year. Still the defense for their case was well defended as they took on all challengers including retaining the 3XW title a total of 18 times against the best that stood up to take them on .

We would love to see the American Bulldogs and the Hooligans battle it out in 2013 for not only the 3XW,Metro Pro, ST Louis Anarchy tag titles but for the enjoyment of fans in the Midwest.


The Hooligans- Photo Credit Brian Kelley

1ST Runner up – The Hooligans Devin and Mason Cutter

The Hooligans Devin and Mason Cutter continue to be among the most exciting wrestlers in the country today. 2012 was once again another great year for them as they captured the Metro Pro Wrestling and Pro Wrestling Epic tag Team titles. They made their debut at New Midwest Wrestling and continued to have the St. Louis Anarchy fans up on their feet during their matches.


Brandon Espinosa and Ace Hawkins wins the AAPW Tag Team titles. – Photo Credit Brian Kelley

2nd Runner Up- Minor Threat- Brandon Espinosa and Ace Hawkins

The current AAPW Tag team champions won the belts in an exciting ladder match at AAPW Zero Hour. Outside the area, Espinosa and Hawkins continues to be two of the top single stars in the area when they are not thrilling the fans with tag team excellence .


the Commission -Pierre Abernathy and Evan Gelistico/ (far right) have enforced the rules along with Miss Natural and Steven J Girthy on the way to the top at Metro Pro Wrestling. – Photo Credit Brian Kelley

3rd Runner up- The Submission Squad/The Commission – Evan Gelistico/ Pierre Abernathy

The veterans of tag team wrestling only continues to get better with time. Team looked to make a comeback at CHIKARA that just fell short. Still they were able to end the year winning the MPW Tag titles from arch rivals the Hooligans and just came up short for the 3XW tag team titles at 3XW to end the year

Others receiving nominations The Bumrush Brothers Shorty Biggs and Outkast , Team Lariat (“1981’s Finest” Marcus Holiday & “JoeDozer” Joey Anderson) , Christian Rose and Matt Cage, Attitude Inc


2011 The Kentucky Buffett – Alex Castle and Matt Cage

2010 Attitude Inc- Guy Smith, Spencer Powers, Michael Shard

2009- The Hooligans –Devin and Mason Cutter

2008 – The Northstar Express- Darin Corbin and Ryan Cruz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: